Skip to content

I’m spiritual, but not religious.

May 26, 2012

You’ve probably heard it before. “Do you go to a church around here?” “Oh, I’m not religious. I am deeply spiritual;  I just can’t really get into a religion.” Here’s what I hear when people say those kind of things: “I don’t want to be associated with some hypocritical church. I acknowledge and appreciate some sort of supernatural power and/or presence, maybe even the same one you do. I don’t need the confines of a hypocritical institution to be in touch with something beyond myself. I can handle my faith alone. I want to do things my way.” This especially bothers me when people are claiming to follow Christ and the teachings of the Bible.

SBNR, as it’s called, fundamentally denies the necessity of community. People exist and thrive in community alone, and you don’t have to look hard to see that this is a universal truth.

God did not design people to do life/religion/Christianity on their own (1 Corinthians 12, Acts 1-2, Romans 12). To claim otherwise is, at least, extraordinarily selfish, and at worst, heresy.

(There are other things wrong with the ‘spiritual but not religious’ idea, but community is a pretty main one)

Funny thing is, there are communities for SBNR folks…weird

2 Comments leave one →
  1. everythingcatholic permalink
    May 26, 2012 6:18 pm

    Could not agree with you more. Its getting to the point where christians are starting say Jesus condemned religion! I must have missed that verse when studying my bible because I cant find it any where. The only references I find to religion are about how good religion feeds the poor and houses the widows… nothing about religion being bad…

  2. May 26, 2012 6:38 pm

    Yup… besides, how can one truly appreciate God if he never takes the time to strengthen his beliefs with the church. God does not condemn religion, He condemns “forsaking the assembly” as in Hebrews 10: 25. In my opinion this SBNR thing is just another sad fad being chanted by people who really dont know God even if they appreciate his existence.

Leave Your Two Cents:

