Skip to content

Tim McGraw, George Strait and the Meaning(lessness) of Life.

September 9, 2011

I want to take a brief break from the Creation Sings series, and mention a couple things that I heard recently. This may come as a surprise, but every once in a while I enjoy some good ol’ country music. I think it’s mostly because it makes me a little nostalgic about my home in North Carolina. But whatever the reason, country music is a flavor that I’ve grown to appreciate.

However, what I’m often fed in country music, not necessarily different than any other genre, seems kinda ridiculous when I think about it. I have two prime examples that attempt to help the listener think about the meaning of life. One is a Tim McGraw song called Live Like You Were Dying (a great title, by the way, if he knew what that meant) and the second is a George Strait song called Here For a Good Time. Both songs are catchy, for sure, but check out what they leave you with in their quick glimpse of the brevity of life.

Live Like You Were Dying

Like tomorrow was the end
And ya got eternity to think about what to do with it
What should you do with it
What can I do with it
What would I do with it

Skydiving
I went rocky mountain climbing
I went two point seven seconds on a bull named Fu Man Chu
And man I loved deeper
And I spoke sweeter
And I watched an eagle as it was flyin’
And he said some day I hope you get the chance
To live like you were dyin‘ ”

Here For a Good Time

I ain’t here for a long time
I’m here for a good time
So bring on the sunshine
To hell with the red wine
Pour me some moonshine
When I’m gone, put it in stone
He left nothing behind
I ain’t here for a long time
I’m here for a good time.”

On the surface, both sound kind of good. Just GO FOR IT! If you were going to die you should do everything and be crazy!! But what you also begin to sense is the emptiness that they feel. Especially the George Strait song, he basically says, ‘live it up, and at least I will have had a good time,’ with no regard for eternity. “At least I had fun,” is the message here. McGraw mentions eternity, but his answer to it just seems really average and meaningless. ‘Do fun things and be nice to people,’ he says.

Neither answer is enough, and neither accounts for the eternality of forever.

If there is eternity, obviously I would argue that there is, the answer to death is not “have fun while this lasts,” the answer is “live for Something greater than a good time.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 8:16 pm

    excellent post

Leave Your Two Cents:

