Skip to content

Things I’ve learned from Harold Camping

May 21, 2011

“If the rapture were happening today, I wouldn’t be here today,” I said confidently at work today.

So, I asked myself, where would I be and what would I be doing differently if Jesus were to return tonight at 6? Well, I told myself, I would probably be doing something more important and something more eternally lasting. And then it hit me, why am I not living that way now? Jesus really could come back today. None of us are promised tomorrow, or even tonight or even a next breath. So should my life really be all that different? Shouldn’t I be living for those same things every day, with an earnestness that today could be the last?

And then I was thinking about the man behind all of this hysteria, Harold Camping. What a terribly sad, dark night for him. He put all of his ambitions and much of his earthly life into this campaign in order to let people now about the rapture that didn’t happen. I’m sad for this man, and I can’t mock him, or even really laugh at him. I think all that he has done and much of what he believes in is wrong, but that shouldn’t make him and object of derision.

I think it’s kind of a bummer when this kind of stuff hurts the credibility of the Church, but I hope that Christians respond graciously and use the opportunity to share the gospel with others.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 5:40 am

    Yes, mocking people is never very becoming for a Christian to do.

    However, I think you can only feel so sorry for Camping. What he did was foolish and, like you said, “hurt the credibility of the church.” In many ways he asked for the mocking he is now receiving.

  2. May 22, 2011 7:08 am

    “blow the trumpet… warn the people”

    Unfortunately, Camping was blowing his own horn. God delights in foiling the proud schemes of men, especially those who claim to know what God has vowed shall remain secret until the moment that it happens (cf. Acts 1:7).

Leave Your Two Cents:

