Skip to content

Social Rebellion Born of Punk Bands

February 21, 2011

Just was having dinner with one of my house-mates and we were discussing music we used to listen to, and which was extremely popular when we were growing up (e.g. The Offspring, Good Charlotte, Blink 182, Green Day, Boxcar Racer, etc, etc), and how the messages expressed in those songs and by those bands really had an impact on our generation. Here are a couple of the song titles/lyrics that were most prominent:

“Responsiblity, what’s that? Responsibility not quite yet. Responsibility, what’s that? I don’t want to think about it, we’d be better of without it.” – MxPx

Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous – GC (a bit ironic, considering they weren’t exactly poor)

The Young and Hopeless – GC

“At my high school, it felt more to me like a jail cell, a penitentiary, My time spent there, it only made me see that I don’t ever wanna be like you, I don’t wanna do the things you do, I’m never gonna hear the words you say and I don’t ever wanna, I don’t ever wanna be you…don’t wanna be just like you oh what I’m sayin’ is this is the anthem, throw all your hands up, you… don’t wanna be you.” – GC

“And that’s about the time she walked away from me nobody likes you when you’re 23
I’m still more amused by TV shows, what the h*** is ADD? My friends say I should act my age
What’s my age again? What’s my age again?” – Blink 182

And on and on. All that to say, that stick-it-to-the-man, I-wanna-be-different, I-couldn’t-care-less-about-anyone-else, this-world-sucks, politics-are-stupid mentality really hit home and stuck in my generation, and you can see it. You can see it in abortion, divorce, premarital sex, bizarre clothing trends, the “get off my back” mentality, and so forth. Especially in the manner of responsiblity, that first quote, from an allegedly “Christian” punk band, really does characterize the 20 somethings of today.

Crazy how powerful entertainment media is.

PS I’m not blaming anything entirely on any one thing besides sin.

No comments yet

Leave Your Two Cents:

