Skip to content

The Problem with “The New Mystics”

February 14, 2011

First, watch this video (and there are hundreds more):

Obviously there is something really wrong with this picture. Here is an excerpt from John Crowder’s own “testimony” from his website:

I met Jesus on an acid trip…[it] was sudden. I was in a bar on an acid trip one night, when instantly my eyes were opened to the spiritual realm. Of course, under such circumstances, I was only aware of the demonic activity around me, and it freaked me out. I somehow knew what people were thinking before they spoke, and I knew things that were about to happen before they occurred. The enemy began to trigger into the prophetic call that he saw on my life, and I was gripped with fear…Somehow I knew that God will not strive with man forever and that this was the day of salvation. I could take it or leave it. My only hope was to trust in the work of Jesus Christ, but I had given Him a lot of lip service before…Suddenly, I felt every effect of the drugs leave my body, and in an instant, I was filled with the Holy Spirit. In fact, the Spirit ripped through me…Power surged through me like I had never experienced, and the words leaped off the page…I was buzzed in the presence of God for days. The Lord released a spirit of revelation on me that was so intense, I could literally feel my Bible itself vibrating, almost glowing. I had never encountered anything like this before. I was filled with this pure, tangible spiritual substance that seemed to electrify everything. At first, I didn’t even understand that it was the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. I was instantly delivered from drugs and alcohol, immediately smashing all my bongs and drug paraphernalia and ripping out the small marijuana farm growing in my closet. I immediately lost all taste for those things which once held me with addictive chains. I was experiencing the high of the Most High, and it was a very real, pleasurable thing. The dead, religious Christianity I had grown up with was out the window. I was plunged into a realm of danger, adventure and spiritual ecstasy that was better than any drug I had ever tried. The first few weeks of my Christian walk were an intense process of sorting out the voice of God and discerning spirits. Although I was very immature in my faith, I was fiery and willing to do anything I believed the Lord required of me.”

I think you get the idea. Basically, guy gets “saved” during an acid trip, and now lives to get “high”/”wacked”/”smashed”/”inebriated” on Jesus (otherwise know as “Jehovah-juana” or “Godka”), and teach others to the same, while simultaneously working healing miracles. He calls himself a preacher of Christian Mysticism. If you watch the YouTube videos it is really clear that they (Crowder and friends) are in a high-like trance almost all the time (though they claim to not be on any drugs) to the point that they are all but unintelligible. Stranger still if you read the “What We Believe” on the New Mystics website, or listen to some of the “preaching” that Crowder does, you can hear some truth being proclaimed. The problem is that their theology and worldview are entirely unbiblical and heretical (e.g. “You don’t get [an experience of God] in a book, you don’t get it through a lesson. You have to subjectively experience God. You have to experience Him for yourself.”). Crowder teaches that Christians should be crazy, weird and blissful all the time. His sidekick, Benjamin Dunn, stated (at a “Slosh Fest” in England), “Christianity is a happy thing. We should be the most happy, healthy, rich, craziest people on the face of this earth…we’re the sons and daughters of God releasing the earth from bondage…” Almost none of that is true. What this group spreads is a similar to the mysticism of past ages, trance induced “experiences” with “God.” That’s not Christianity.

For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.” – 2 Timothy 4:3

Talk about “suit their own desires”…if you desire physical pleasure more than anything, then to suit your desires you will “get high” on “Jesus.” The New Mystics appeal solely to how one feels and wants to feel. That’s not Christianity.

The Spirit clearly says that in later times some will abandon the faith and follow deceiving spirits and things taught by demons.” – 1 Timothy 4:1

How much is self-control and sobriety demanded in the Bible? Much. John Crowder, and his followers, are at the very least dangerously blasphemous and more likely, anathema. Be wary of truth mixed with lie. Here is one more video, a little longer, that you can check out for a more comprehensive look at this religion.

No comments yet

Leave Your Two Cents:

