Skip to content

Truth Aborted (or “Planned unParenthood”)

February 6, 2011

I’ve spent a substantial amount of time thinking about this blog entry. As I sit here and begin to write it, I am struck again with the seriousness of the issue of abortion, and how much it breaks the heart of God. I, like most Christians, grew up hearing, “abortion is bad, it kills babies,” which is true, but thinking about it in those terms can be so trite and easy to dismiss. I don’t want to throw statistics around like they have no value, so I will try to do it carefully here, so that I/we can think through what they mean. First, let me start with some things from the heart of the Author of life:

– “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; you workmanship is marvelous, I know that fully well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”
– “For You created my inmost being; You knit me together in my mother’s womb.”
– “Your hands made me and formed me…”
– “As you do not know the path of the wind, or how the body is formed in a mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the work of God, the Maker of all things.”
– “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you…”

God is not silent. The truth is abortion is evil. There are no questions. This is not an unclear issue. There are not situations where abortion is justified. Situational ethics mean relative truth and truth is not relative. (That is not to say that there are not thousands of heart-wrenching rape/incest caused pregnancies, but murder of a human child (by God’s definition, not mine alone) is always evil.) Since the year 1973 (Roe v. Wade), over 50 million unborn/partially born babies have been killed. Please don’t be mistaken, those are babies (see God’s Word, as listed above). For some reason (due largely to what our twisted culture feeds us) it can be easy to be a bit unclear as to the “definition” of a human being or at what stage unborn becomes human, let me be as abundantly clear as God is: if it’s conceived, it’s a person. Just because it can’t cry out on it’s own behalf doesn’t mean it’s not a little baby boy or girl. [Side fact: the heart of an unborn child begins beating 18 days after conception] I hope it’s clear.

Planned unParenthood

For an organization that is supposed to be promoting choices and options for pregnant woman (and youth, as most cases are), Planned Parenthood sure seems to convince a lot of woman to have abortions:

…However, according to the most recent figures, Planned Parenthood did 264,943 abortions in 2005, an increase of over 100,000 from the year before (those abortions generated an estimated $99 million profit for Planned Parenthood.) In contrast, adoption referrals by Planned Parenthood have been steadily decreasing from 1,774 customers in 2003 to 1,414 in 2004 (the last years figures were known). In other words, for every 180 abortions Planned Parenthood did, they offered one adoption referral (http://spectator.org/archives/2007/05/23/the-real-planned-parenthood).

It’s not secret, PP would rather kill than any other option. Which, honestly, is not out of line with founder Margaret Sanger’s initial desires (to put a check on unwanted, social outcasts born of teen mothers). For more on that, check out this article: Abortion, Eugenics and the Meaning of Margaret Sanger.  [Side fact: 9 weeks after conception, an unborn baby is physically capable of feeling pain.] As you may have noticed in the news not too long ago, PP has also been in the lime light for some illegal activity exposed by Live Action (a pro-life organization that stages undercover video sting operations) in several east coast states. And I won’t even get into the horrendous reality that our taxes are funding Planned Parenthood (in the order of well over 4 million dollars to date, probably about 7 million by now*), or that Planned Parenthood is quite racist (as other sources, like Abort73, have uncovered**). All that to say, Planned Parenthood is a wicked organization, the kind of which should never be allowed to exist.

That is all, my heart is heavy as I finish writing this. It is unconscionable that our nation tolerates abortion by calling it “a woman’s choice about her own body and sexuality.” God is grieved by the thousands of children killed every month. Don’t be shaky on this ground, Christian.


(one of hundreds of videos found on YouTube)

Verses gathered from the Bible, mainly Psalms
“Side facts” gathered from: http://prolifeaction.org/faq/unborn.php
*The most recent abortion data available is from 2005, not surprisingly
**http://www.abort73.com/abortion/abortion_and_race/

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 2:09 am

    i love it

Leave Your Two Cents:

