Skip to content

Faith and Reason and God in a Box

January 10, 2011
tags: ,

I think it’s easy to let apologetics and arguments from reason erode one’s understanding of, and reliance on, faith. I’ll show you what I mean. Recently, I was having a conversation with a junior higher, and we got talking about Christianity. I asked him what he thought about the gospel/Christianity/Jesus/and God, in general. He said that he believed God made everything, but couldn’t understand where God came from. I thought in my mind, “easy, this kid knows nothing, this should only take a few seconds to clear up.” But, as I started to respond to him, I realized I didn’t have a really powerful, convincing answer. I stammered through something like, “well, if God created the world, then He must be outside of it and altogether different from creation.” Now I don’t think what I said was wrong, but let’s face it, at the end of the day, you have to take God on faith. You can’t point and say, “look over there, you can see how God is eternal.” There may be signs of that (and there are), but it’s faith. A little while later in the same conversation, the young man mentioned his difficulty in understanding whether Jesus was God or the Son of God. Again, in my mind I’m thinking, “duh, He’s both, this is so simple, Theology 101: Trinity.” But, how do you explain “one God, three persons, God is one”? Three-in-One isn’t something you can just explain and rely on reason, it’s faith.

Looking back on that conversation, I realized that in my desire to be intelligent, rational and convincing to a dying world, I sometimes try to present God in a believable, understandable, rational box; because that way people will be more likely to believe him. But where’s the faith? The truth is, I can’t explain an eternal God or the Trinity. Or grace or Jesus, completely God and completely man. Faith is putting trust in something you can’t see, can’t explain, can’t quantify, and can’t really understand. I’m not saying that faith and reason are altogether separate, just that God can’t be taken on logic. “By faith…”

“Great is the LORD, and highly to be praised, and His greatness is unsearchable.” – Psalm 145:3

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 10:25 pm

    Well said!

Leave Your Two Cents:

