Skip to content

Sigh No More

December 29, 2010

One of my favorite new musical albums is from a recent entry into the mainstream music world: Mumford & Sons. Formed in 2007,  “they create a gutsy, old-time sound that marries the magic of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young with the might of Kings Of Leon, and their incredible energy draws us in quickly to their circle of songs, to the warmth of their stories, and to their magical community of misty-eyed men.” …I’m not sure what half of that means, but I got it from their website.

Mumford & Sons has a very distinct English folk rock sound that sticks mainly to the sounds of an old-fashioned upright bass, acoustic guitar, mandolin and banjo. Although the lead singer, Marcus Mumford, plays a bass drum with his foot, the band’s sound lacks a drum kit. And I like it. I think so often the drums in a song are what make it catchy and driving. And noisy and overpowering . When you hear music without a full drum set there is so much more of the music detail that you can hear. That’s one of my favorite things about the band: it’s distinctly acoustic. I love the little instrumentals that let the banjo break it down (for a sample, check out The Cave). (I wish Christian bands would be more musical ingenuitive like this band. So much of Christian music is sub-par repetition. Great messages, usually, but just not what I would like to see from Christians in the way of excellence. And that was my Christian music rant…well, part of it anyway.)

The lyrics are mostly melancholy, and don’t always make sense (similar to my all-time favorite band: Coldplay), but they are intriguing. I appreciate the lack of language on this album, except for one song that drops the f-bomb in the chorus (but even when used it’s not sexual in connotation, it’s used instead of “screwed up”…not justifying it, just explaining). Themes covered over the album include: love, failure, endurance, independence, friendship, truth, oppression, justice, revenge and life after death.

My favorite line from the CD is from the song Awake My Soul: “Where you invest your love, you invest your life.” So true.

No comments yet

Leave Your Two Cents:

