Skip to content

Satan, Sex and Space Aliens

December 21, 2010

A couple nights ago I saw the movie The Fighter (starring one of my all time favorites, Mark Wahlberg). While waiting for the feature presentation, I sat through a stunning 10 minutes of movie previews. When I say stunning, I just mean that I was stunned. When I walked into the theater there was a preview already showing for a horror movie about exorcisms and some kind of demon possession. It struck me that it was all glorifying Satan. I’m not naive enough to think that this is the first such movie, because I know there are thousands of demon-focused movies out there, but it just struck me how much credit and praise movies like this lend to Satan. And it takes Satan to make a box-office hit. You don’t see  movies about Jesus and His work get any kind of main stream attention, but Satan is a lot more in vogue, I suppose. Jesus is mocked and Satan is entertaining.

Another trailer shown was the one for Cowboys & Aliens (there are so many things I could say about that title) which, to be fair, has a pretty stellar cast including Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig. However, as I watched the preview, it just reminded me again how mainstream and popular the topic of aliens really is today (again, I know there are a million more alien movies). The movie looks weirdly interesting.

Probably the most disappointing preview I had to sit through was soon-coming No Strings Attached. It stars Ashton Kutcher (possibly my least favorite celebrity of all time, and I mean that) and Natalie Portman (who I thought higher of until I saw this preview). The plot for the movie seems to be that Kutcher is a sleaze bag who sleeps around and finally meets this woman that he “loves.” So they move in together (I think) and then have the usual arguments and fights. Right at the end of the movie there is a scene where Portman jumps on Kutcher’s back and yells, “Why can’t we just have sex?!?” I was dumbfounded. Of course that is all over Hollywood and everything they do, but I’m not used to hearing it from women. Think of it, 8-10 years ago that would have practically been a scandal, but now it is accepted as normal. And funny! And good! America is so sexualized that there is not bounds anymore. None at all.

No comments yet

Leave Your Two Cents:

